Sophie Stahl discovered her love of music at an early stage. After several years of recorder and piano lessons, she finally began to learn oboe at the age of 12. Only a few years later in 2005, she passed the entrance examination at Department Wuppertal of the Academy of Music and Dance Cologne as a “Jungstudent”, and from that moment on was taught by Rodrigo Blumenstock and later in 2007 by Prof. Marc Schaeferdiek. By the time she graduated with the “Abitur” she had already received an intensive and comprehensive musical education. In 2009 her career had her move to the Netherlands where she continued to receive oboe lessons from Prof. Marc Schaeferdiek at the Conversatorium Maastricht. In 2012 she moved back to Germany in order to receive lessons from Prof. Washington Barella at the UdK Berlin where she completed her Bachelor's degree in the summer of 2014 and two years later her Master's degree, both to great success.

While studying at the UdK Berlin she held a scholarship of the “ad infinitum foundation”.
She further expanded her musical horizon by receiving lessons and master classes from Peter Veale, Bert Lucarelli, Vicente Llimera, Prof. Christian Wetzel, Prof. Ingo Goritzki, Yeon-Hee Kwak, and Prof. Christoph Huntgeburth.

She partook in various projects which have brought her to Brussels, London, Sweden, among others, and enabled her to gain numerous musical experiences as a soloist, in orchestras and ensembles. To name a few, she performed at the “Internationale Sommerakademien” in Pommersfelden (Collegium musicum) and in Hundisburg; she played as an assistance oboist on numerous occasions at e.g. the Theater Vorpommern, Theater Magdeburg and the Neubrandenburger Philharmonie, and collaboated with orchestras like for example the Bochumer Symphoniker orchestra.

Sophie’s particular passion are chamber ensembles and small chamber orchestras, since the intimate setting and musical opportunity really attract her. Therefore, she has been and is still frequently seen in this area, for instance, during her time as a scholarship holder of the foundation “jong voor oud” as well as during her time in Berlin as a scholarship holder of the association “YEHUDI MENUHIN Live Music Now, Berlin e.V.”, when she participated in various ensembles (woodwind quintet; trio with oboe, cornet and piano; guitar and oboe). What inspired her the most is the intimate contact with the audience. So far, her professional activities have led her on numerous trips in Germany and abroad, for example to Brussels and London, where she gave a concert as part of a Persian-European project called “Pardis”. 

Currently, she is a freelance musician mainly active in Berlin, Brandenburg and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and regularly plays as an assistance oboist in different orchestras such as the Neubrandenburg Philharmonic and the Theater Vorpommern.

Oboe

Are you interested?

Do you want to book a workshop

or do you have any additional questions?

 

​Send me a message!

    • Facebook
    • Instagram

    © 2020 by Sophie Stahl. Legal Notice.

Sophie Stahl entdeckte schon frühzeitig ihre Liebe zur Musik. Nach mehreren Jahren Blockflöten- und Klavierunterricht begann sie schließlich im Alter von 12 Jahren Oboe zu lernen. Nur wenige Jahre später (2005) bestand sie die Aufnahmeprüfung an der HfM Köln, Standort Wuppertal, als Jungstudentin und erhielt nun ihren Unterricht zunächst bei Rodrigo Blumenstock und ab 2007 von Prof. Marc Schaeferdiek. Bis zum Abitur erfuhr sie so bereits eine intensive und umfassende musikalische Ausbildung. Ihr Studium führte sie 2009 zunächst in die Niederlande an das Conservatorium Maastricht, wo sie den Unterricht mit Prof. Marc Schaeferdiek vertiefte. 2012 wechselte sie an die UdK Berlin zu Prof. Washington Barella und schloss im Sommer 2014 ihren Bachelor und im Sommer 2016 ihren Master mit großem Erfolg ab.

Während ihres Studiums an der UdK Berlin war sie Stipendiatin der „ad infinitum foundation“.
Durch Unterricht und Meisterkurse bei Peter Veale, Bert Lucarelli, Vicente Llimera, Prof. Christian Wetzel, Prof. Ingo Goritzki, Yeon-Hee Kwak und Prof. Christoph Huntgeburth erweiterte sie ihren musikalischen Horizont.

Verschiedenste Projekte, die sie u. a. nach Brüssel, London und Schweden führten, ermöglichten es ihr, zahlreiche musikalische Erfahrungen sowohl solistisch, im Orchester, als auch im Ensemblespiel zu sammeln. So zum Beispiel bei den internationalen Sommerakademien in Pommersfelden (Collegium musicum) und Hundisburg. Ebenso gehören zahlreiche Aushilfen in Orchestern wie u. a. dem Theater Vorpommern, Theater Magdeburg und der Neubrandenburger Philharmonie, wie auch Kooperationen mit z. B. den Bochumer Symphonikern zu ihren Erfahrungen.

Ihre besondere Leidenschaft gilt dem Musizieren in Kammermusikensembles und kleinen Kammerorchestern, da diese intimeren Besetzungen für sie einen besonderen musikalischen Reiz haben. Demnach ist sie in diesem Bereich sehr aktiv und häufig zu erleben. So wirkte sie als Stipendiatin der Stiftung „jong voor oud“ und zu Berliner Zeiten als Stipendiatin des Vereins „YEHUDI MENUHIN Live Music Now, Berlin e.V.“ in verschiedenen Ensembles (Holzbläßerquintett; Trio Oboe, Horn, Klavier; Gitarre und Oboe) mit. Besonders der direkte Kontakt zum Publikum inspirierte sie sehr. Ihre rege Konzerttätigkeit führten sie bislang auf zahlreiche Reisen im In- und Ausland, so zum Beispiel nach Brüssel und London, um in einem persisch-europäischen Projekt „Pardis“ zu konzertieren. 

Derzeit ist sie als freie Musikerin überwiegend in Berlin, Brandenburg und MV tätig und spielt regelmäßig zur Aushilfe in verschiedenen Orchestern wie u. a. der Neubrandenburger Philharmonie und dem Theater Vorpommern.

Oboe